Pavel Kaplevich

Guest Designer
Pavel Kaplevich

Graduated from the Acting Department of the Nemirovich-Danchenko Theatre School under the Chekhov Moscow Art Theatre in 1980. He then worked as an actor at the Bryantsev Youth Theatre in Leningrad. He has never been trained as a professional designer.

He has designed costumes and sets for over 200 productions including Boris Godunov for the Bolshoi Theatre; The Cherry Orchard, Three Comrades, Pygmalion, The Storm and A Gentleman for the Sovremennik Theatre, Tartuffeand Masquerade for the Chekhov Moscow Art Theatre; Cyrano de Bergerac, and Amphitryon for the Vakhtangov Academic Theatre; Two Women for the Lenkom Theatre, N-Nezhinsky for the Bogis Theatre Company; Wit Works Woefor the 814 Theatrical Partnership; Catherine the Great for the Sverdlovsk Theatre of Musical Comedy; Cerceau and Six Characters Looking For the Author for the School of Dramatic Art; Caligula for the Mossovet Theatre ; Khlestakov, The Twelfth Night and The Taming of the Shrew for the Stanislavsky Drama Theatre. As a designer he worked on the following films: Sokurov’s The Russian Ark, Khamdamov’s Anna Karamazoff, Lungin’s Taxi Blues, Evstigneyev’s Migrant Workers, Aleinikovs’ Tractor Drivers 2, Bondarchuk’s The Inhabited Island to mention but a few.

In 2000, he was awarded the Avant-Garde King title for his clothes collection called Nonbirds at the Alba-Moda festival.

As an art director he has participated in the Golden Mask and Triumph opening and awarding ceremonies. He designed the Russian Pavilion at the Book Salon exhibition in Paris in 2006. He was the art director of the opening and closing ceremonies at the Russian Culture Days in Thailand, Poland and France.

In 2017, he created the media project The Appealof Appearance at the Tretyakov Gallery.

Pavel Kaplevich was the creator, librettist and producer of the Chaadsky performance at Helikon-Opera (2017). Kirill Serebrennikov’s production was awarded the Golden Mask in the category Opera/Directing Work and the award of the national newspaper Muzykalnoe obozrenie in the category Production of the year — Opera.

Awards and Honours:

  • Honoured Art Worker of the Russian Federation
  • Prize-winner of the Golden Mask award (for Catherine the Great, 2009)
  • Prize-winner of the Moskovsky Komsomolets newspaper award (for Tartuffe, 2005)
  • Prize-winner of the Chaika Award (for Amphitryon and Two Women, 1998)
  • Prize-winner of the Crystal Rose Award (as one of the N-Nizhinsky producers, 1993)

Productions:

Tchaikovsky's The Nutcracker. An Opera — Costume Designer, Librettist
Puccini's Madama Butterfly — Costume Designer

Contact

Ticket Office:
Open:
Mon – Sun: 11:00 - 20:00. Break: 15:00 - 15:30

Павел Каплевич

Приглашенный художник
Павел Каплевич

Окончил Школу-студию имени Вл.И. Немировича-Данченко при МХАТ имени А.П. Чехова (актерский факультет, 1980). Затем работал актером Ленинградского театра юного зрителя имени А.А. Брянцева. Специального художественного образования не получил.

Автор костюмов и декораций к более чем 200 спектаклям, среди которых: «Борис Годунов» (Государственный академический Большой театр); «Вишневый сад», «Три товарища», «Пигмалион», «Гроза», «Джентельменъ», «Игра в джин», «Двое на качелях» (Московский театр «Современник»); «Тартюф», «Маскарад» (МХТ имени А.П. Чехова),«Сирано де Бержерак», «Государь ты мой, батюшка», «Амфитрион» (Государственный академический театр имени Е.В. Вахтангова); «Две женщины» (театр «Ленком»); «N-Нижинский» (Антреприза «Богис»),«Горе от ума» («Театральное товарищество 814»),«Екатерина Великая», рок-опера «Орфей & Эвридика» (Свердловский государственный академический театр музыкальной комедии); «Серсо», «Шестеро персонажей в поисках автора» (театр «Школа драматического искусства»); «Калигула» (Театр имени Моссовета); «Хлестаков», «Двенадцатая ночь», «Укрощение строптивой» (Драматический театр имени К.С. Станиславского). В качестве художника работал над фильмами «Русский ковчег» А. Сокурова, «Анна Карамазофф» Р. Хамдамова, «Такси-блюз» П. Лунгина, «Лимита» Д. Евстигнее­ва, «Трактористы-2» Г. и И. Алейниковых, «Обитае­мый остров» Ф. Бондарчука и другими.

В 2000 году на фестивале «Альба-мода» за коллекцию одежды «Нептицы» получил звание «Король Авангарда».

Как художник-постановщик участвовал в церемониях награждения и открытия фестивалей и премий «Золотая Маска», «Триумф», «Созвездие». Автор дизайна русского павильона на выставке «Книжный салон» (Париж, 2006). Главный художник церемоний открытия и закрытия «Дней русской культуры» в Таиланде, Польше и Франции.

В 2017 году создал медиапроект «ПроЯвление» в Третьяковской галерее.

Павел Каплевич — автор идеи, либретто (совместно с Александром Маноцковым) и продюсер спектакля «Чаадский» в Музыкальном театре Геликон-Опера (2017). Спектакль в постановке Кирилла Серебренникова был удостоен премии «Золотая Маска» в номинации «Опера/Работа режиссера» и премии национальной газеты «Музыкальное обозрение» в номинации «Спектакль года — опера».

Звания и призы:

  • заслуженный деятель искусств РФ
  • лауреат премии «Золотая Маска» (спектакль «Екатерина Великая», 2009)
  • лауреат премии газеты «Московский комсомолец» (спектакль «Тартюф», 2005)
  • лауреат премии «Чайка» (спектакли «Амфитрион» и «Две женщины», 1998)
  • лауреат премии «Хрустальная роза» (как один из создателей спектакля «N-Нижинский», 1993)

Участие в постановках театра:

«Щелкунчик. Опера» П.И. Чайковского — автор идеи и либретто, художник по костюмам
«Мадам Баттерфляй» Дж. Пуччини — художник по костюмам

Презентация спектакля «Щелкунчик. Опера» и новогодний бал-аукцион. 21.12.2014. Фото: glamour.ruПавел Каплевич, Алла Сигалова. Презентация спектакля «Щелкунчик. Опера» и новогодний бал-аукцион. 21.12.2014. Фото: glamour.ru

Контакты

Кассы:
Режим работы:
Пн – вс: 11:00 – 20:00. Перерыв: 15:00 – 15:30