Denis Azarov

Guest Stage Director
Denis Azarov

He graduated from the DirectionDepartment of the Russian Institute of Theatre Arts – GITIS (Joseph Raihelgauz’s class, 2012). He started his theatrical career at the Novaya Opera where he worked as an assistant director and interpreter in 2005 to 2009. In 2006, he was a trainee director in Badisches Staatstheater Karlsruhe (Germany). In 2007–2010 he worked in the Pyotr Fomenko Workshop Theatre.

He founded an opera studio, The Moscow Youth Opera House in the Victor Popov Choral Art Academy (2007),where he directed Tchaikovsky’s Iolanta, Rossini’s Il viaggio a Reims, Mozart’s Le nozze di Figaro, Donizetti’s Don Pasquale, Gavrilin’s Perezvony and Rachmaninoff’s Aleko. In 2010–2012 he was a director at the Moscow Chamber Musical Theatre, where he staged Gavrilin’s Russian Notebook and Kobekin’s The Jester and the King. He was an acting technique teacher for the Young Artists Opera Program at the Bolshoi Theatre (2011–2012).

Since 2012, he has been collaborating with The Platform project. As part of the project he worked on the world premiere of a production of Manotskov’s Nicodemus Passion (2013). Denis Azarov has produced performances at various theatres such as the Gogol Centre (Vvedensky’s Christmas Tree at the Ivanovs and Mavromatis’ The Milk),the Dramaturgy and Directing Centre (Vorozhbit’s Viy. Docudrama),the Yermolova Theatre (Pecheykin’s Romeo and Juliet. Edition based on Shakespeare’s tragedy, Erdman’s The Suicide),the Meyerhold Centre (From theLife of Planets to Nesterov’s music),the Khitrovkacultural centre (The Lower Depths based on Gorky’s play) and the Open Stageproject (Pecheykin’s Public Recitation and Ruslan and Lyudmila. Concert based on Pushkin’s poem). Besides, he was a resident of the Blackbox experimental programme in the Meyerhold Centre (2013).

In 2014–2016 he was a director at the Volkov Drama Theatre (Yaroslavl),where he directed productions of Ionesco’s and Daniil Kharms’ Délire à deux (the longlist of the Golden Mask Award); Yerofeyev’s Moscow-Petushki; Ostrovsky’s The Storm (the longlist of the Golden Mask Award) and Gogol’s The Government Inspector. Besides, in Helikon-opera he directed the world premiere of Sergunin’s opera Doctor Haass (2016) which was nominated to the Golden Mask Russian Theatre Award in 6 categories, including The Best Director’s Work.

As an assistant director Denis Azarov worked at Serebrennikov’s productions of Rimsky-Korsakov’s The Golden Cockerel in the Bolshoi Theatre and Neuwirth’s American Lulu in the Komische Oper Berlin.

Awards and Honours:

  • Prize-winner of the Support of the Theatrical Initiatives at the Theatre of Nations
  • Grant-holder of the Culture Ministry of Russia

Productions:

Puccini's Madama Butterfly — Stage Director

Contact

Ticket Office:
Open:
Mon – Sun: 11:00 - 20:00. Break: 15:00 - 15:30

Денис Азаров

Приглашенный режиссер
Денис Азаров

Окончил режиссерский факультет Российского института театрального искусства — ГИТИС (мастерская И. Райхельгауза, 2012). Свою театральную деятельность начал в Московском театре Новая Опера имени Е.В. Колобова, где в период с 2005 по 2009 год работал ассистентом режиссера и переводчиком. В 2006 году — режиссер-стажер в Баденском государственном театре в Карлсруэ (Германия). В 2007–2010 — сотрудник Московского театра «Мастерская Петра Фоменко».

Основал оперную студию «Московский молодежный оперный дом» при Академии хорового искусства имени В. Попова (2007),где его творческими работами стали: «Иоланта» П.И. Чайковского, «Путешествие в Реймс» Дж. Россини, «Свадьба Фигаро» В.А. Моцарта, «Дон Паскуале» Г. Доницетти, «Перезвоны» В. Гаврилина и «Алеко» С.В. Рахманинова. С 2010 по 2012 год — режиссер Камерного музыкального театра имени Б.А. Покровского, постановки: «Русская тетрадь» В. Гаврилина, «Шут и король» В. Кобекина. Работал педагогом по актерскому мастерству Молодежной оперной программы Государственного академического Большого театра России (2011–2012).

С 2012 года сотрудничает с проектом «Платформа». В рамках проекта осуществил постановку мировой премьеры оперы А. Маноцкова «Страсти по Никодиму» (2013). Д. Азаров поставил спектакли в различных театрах: «Гоголь-центр» («Елка у Ивановых» А. Введенского, «Молоко» Е. Мавроматис),Центр драматургии и режиссуры («Вий. Докудрама» Н. Ворожбит),театр имени М.Н. Ермоловой («Ромео и Джульетта. Версия» В. Печейкина по У. Шекспиру; «Самоубийца» Н. Эрдмана),Центр имени Вс. Мейерхольда («Из жизни планет» на музыку О. Нестерова),Культурный центр «Хитровка» («На дне» по мотивам пьесы М. Горького) и проект «Открытая сцена» («Публичное чтение» В. Печейкина, «Руслан и Людмила. Концерт» по поэме А.С. Пушкина). Кроме того, был резидентом экспериментальной программы Центра им. Вс. Мейерхольда «Blackbox» (2013).

С 2014 по 2016 год — режиссер Российского государственного академического театра драмы имени Ф. Волкова (Ярославль),где осуществил постановки спектаклей: «Бред вдвоем» Э. Ионеско, Д. Хармса (лонг-лист премии «Золотая Маска»); «Москва-Петушки» В. Ерофее­ва; «Гроза» А.Н. Островского (также в лонг-листе «Золотой Маски») и «Ревизор» Н.В. Гоголя. Кроме того, в Московском музыкальном театре «Геликон-опера» под его руководством прозвучала мировая премьера оперы «Доктор Гааз» А. Сергунина (2016),получившая 6 номинаций российской театральной премии «Золотая Маска», среди которых — «Лучшая работа режиссера в опере».

В качестве второго режиссера Д. Азаров участвовал в постановках спектаклей К. Серебренникова: «Золотой Петушок» Н.А. Римского-Корсакова в Большом театре и «Американская Лулу» О. Нойверт в «Комише опер» (Берлин).

Звания и призы:

  • лауреат премии «Поддержки театральных инициа­тив» Театра Наций
  • стипендиат Министерства культуры РФ

Участие в постановках театра:

«Мадам Баттерфляй» Дж. Пуччини — режиссер

Контакты

Кассы:
Режим работы:
Пн – вс: 11:00 – 20:00. Перерыв: 15:00 – 15:30