Alexey Shelygin

The Toy Seller

The Toy Seller

Fantasy opera in two acts


Playwriter: Victor Dobrosotsky

Librettist: Kirill Krastoshevsky

Music Director: Alexander Zhilenkov

Conductors: Alexander Zhilenkov, Valery Kritskov

Stage Director: Alexey Veiro

Designer: Daria Sintsova

Choirmaster: Yulia Senyukova

Choreographer: Sergey Satarov

Lighting Designer: Aivar Salikhov


Running time: 2 hours 15 minutes with one intermission


Premiered on 23 November 2019


The Novaya Opera Theatre presents The Toy Seller fantasy opera. The opera has been written at the request of the Novaya Opera by Alexey Shelygin, one of the most in-demand theatre and cinema composer and a prize-winner of the prestige awards The Golden Ram, The Gull, Nika and The Golden Rhino. Alexey Shelygin’s works are well-known to the public as he has composed music to over 150 films and series (including the films The Sky. The Plane. The Girl. and Shadowboxing, and the series The Brigade and The Penal Battalion),to many TV-programmes, drama performances, documentary films, as well as academic compositions and functional music.

The philosophical fairy-tale about a French toy seller who attains happiness and the reason to live in his ancestral homeland, Russia, has already been used as the plot of a homonymous play (2010),a film (2012),a musical (2018) and now an opera. However, the opera’s libretto stands in stark contrast to the book and the film. Poet Kirill Krastoshevsky has changed the narrative move, added, according to him, ‘some theatrical action’, created a whole world of toys that equates to the world of people. In the opera they are performed by choir artists and each of them will become a unique toy!

The stage director Alexey Veiro conceived the opera as an apologue performance so that everyone could find something important for themselves. “The nice thing about this format is that it can exist both as a fairy-tale for a child and as an apologue for an adult with an important message for introspective self-reflection’. The action on the stage is like a play of a child who came to his father’s office, sat down at his desk covered with newspapers and stock quotes, put out his toys and began to play.

The amazingly beautiful opera music is absolutely traditional; the influence of the cinema is explicitly felt in it. According to the conductor Alexander Zhilenkov, “here there are such hit themes that are easy to remember, and you want to hum them”. For the composer Alexey Shelygin it was important to create such an opera that would be nice to listen to for the audience and to perform with pleasure for the singers. “My opera is in permanent dialogue with the opera of the last three centuries and sometimes even with the baroque time. The toy is a strange thing which unites reality (for the child it is exactly real life at the moment of play) and fantasy. I hope that spectators will feel this boundary between fantasy and reality in my music”.

 

subscribe

Исправьте данные и отправьте форму ещё раз.
Спасибо! Вы успешно подписались на нашу рассылку! Нажмите на ссылку, чтобы продолжить.

Contact

Gosudarstvennoe byudzhetnoe uchrezhdenie kul`tury` goroda Moskvy` «Moskovskij teatr «Novaya Opera» imeni E.V.Kolobova»

А. Шелыгин

«Продавец игрушек»

«Продавец игрушек»

Опера-фантазия в двух действиях


Автор пьесы: Виктор Добросоцкий

Автор либретто: Кирилл Крастошевский

Музыкальный руководитель и дирижер: Александр Жиленков

Режиссер: Алексей Вэйро

Художник: Дарья Синцова

Хормейстер: Юлия Сенюкова

Хореограф: Сергей Сатаров

Художник по свету: Айвар Салихов


Рекомендовано детям старше 6 лет


ПРЕМЬЕРА 

Театр представляет осеннюю премьеру – оперу-фантазию «Продавец игрушек». Произведение написано по заказу Новой Оперы Алексеем Шелыгиным, одним из самых востребованных композиторов театра и кино, лауреатом престижных премий «Золотой Овен», «Чайка», «Ника», «Золотой Носорог». Творчество Алексея Шелыгина знают все: это музыка к 150 фильмам и сериалам (среди которых фильмы «Небо. Самолет. Девушка», «Бой с тенью», сериалы «Бригада», «Штрафбат»),ко множеству телепрограмм, драматических спектаклей, документальных фильмов, а также академические произведения и прикладная музыка.

Философская сказка о французском продавце игрушек, обретающем счастье и смысл жизни на родине предков, в России, уже стала поводом к созданию одноименной пьесы (2010),кинофильма (2012),мюзикла (2018),а теперь и оперы. Но либретто оперы разительно отличается и от книги, и от фильма. Поэт Кирилл Крастошевский изменил сюжетный поворот, добавил, по его словам, «немного театрального экшена», создал целый мир игрушек, равноценный миру людей.
В опере их исполнят артисты хора, причем каждый из них будет уникальной игрушкой!

Режиссер Алексей Вэйро задумал оперу как спектакль-притчу, чтобы каждый мог найти в ней для себя что-то важное. «Такой формат хорош тем, что может существовать и в виде сказки на уровне ребенка, и как притча на уровне взрослого, с важным посылом для вдумчивой саморефлексии». Происходящее на сцене – словно игра некоего ребенка, который пришел в кабинет отца, сел за его рабочий стол, заваленный газетами и биржевыми сводками, достал игрушки и начал игру.

Удивительно красивая музыка оперы абсолютно традиционна, в ней очень чувствуется влияние кино. Как отметил дирижер Александр Жиленков,«здесь есть такие шлягерные темы, которые легко запоминаются, их хочется напевать». Для композитора Алексея Шелыгина было важно создать такую оперу, которую и нам будет приятно слушать, и певцам – с удовольствием петь. «Моя опера находится в постоянном диалоге с оперой трех последних столетий, а иногда – даже с эпохой Барокко. Игрушка – странное явление, в котором соединяются реальность (для ребенка в момент игры она и есть реальная жизнь) и фантазия. Надеюсь, эту границу фантазии и реальности зрители почувствуют в моей музыке».

Контакты

Кассы:
Режим работы:
Пн – вс: 11:00 – 20:00. Перерыв: 15:00 – 15:30